A Lazy, Rainy, and Windy Weekend

Thanks to Hurricane Sandy, I have had a lot of free time!  It’s been raining since Saturday afternoon, so I’ve pretty much been home since then.  You never really know what to expect in this area when storms roll in, so it’s safe just to stay home!  Also, a lot of roads around us have been impassable, so there’s really no place to go!  Even Zach had the day off!  Some of our favorite local spots were flooded and damaged, so hopefully they can rebuild and get back on their feet soon!

For the last 2 months or so, I’ve kept really busy!  And, honestly, it’s allowed me to keep my mind distracted.  Sometimes that’s a good thing; I have to keep living.  But, it’s also important that I’m not trying to fill my days up and stay so busy that I don’t have time to process my grief.  That’s not a healthy way to deal with everything.  There has to be a balance.  Having nothing to do and nowhere to go for three day has forced me to slow down.  I think my body and my mind needed that.  I’ve done a lot of eating, reading, and napping…three of my favorite things!!  Resting has given me the chance to re-charge and think about some things that I’ve been forcing to the back of my mind.  I know these next few months will be busy and full of emotion, so I think I really needed to just slow down for a few days.

2 Comments

Filed under Grief, Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Lazy, Rainy, and Windy Weekend

  1. Sue Dunlow

    Looks like you have tomorrow off too….enjoy some more down time! Love a much!

  2. Devyn

    I am glad you got some rest. Remember to just keep taking it day by day!

Leave a Reply

