A Month of Gratitude

I’m challenging myself this month.  I LOVE this time of year for so many reasons – Thanksgiving, Christmas, decorating, the chill in the air, curling up on the couch with a hot drink, vacation with my family, the hustle and bustle of the holidays, etc.  It’s easy to get so caught up and forget what this time of year is really about.  Each day in November, I am going to write what I’m most thankful for.  It’s been a hard year for my family, but there are still so many things in my life that God has blessed me with.  Throughout the last several months, my prayer has been to have a grateful heart and not a bitter one.  Reminding myself each day of the blessings (big and small!) that God has so mercifully given me seems like a good place to start!

  1. I am thankful for a Savior who loves me enough to die for me.
  2. I am so grateful for the man that God made for me.  I can’t imagine spending my life and having a family with anyone else.  Zach and I are truly a team, and our marriage is stronger now than it was a year ago!
  3. I am beyond blessed to be Hannah’s mommy.  Some of my most cherished memories come from the 9 months she spent inside me.  She will always be my little bug 🙂
  4. I am so thankful for this new little life growing inside of me.  Being pregnant is such a miracle, and I know that this child will continue to bring so much joy into our lives.  I can’t wait to find out if we are having another daughter or our first son!
  5. Our house wouldn’t be the same without my Penny.  She is the sweetest dog and gives the best snuggles (which we’ve been doing a lot of lately)!
  6. I don’t think I could have made it through the last 8 months without our family and friends who have become family.  I am so grateful to have all of you in my life, and I love you so much!
  7. I’m thankful to live in a country where I can freely and peacefully cast my vote each election day.  No matter what the outcome is, I know that Jesus is King!
  8. I am so blessed to have a roof over my head. I’m thankful that we are able to rent this house and save so much money each month!  It will pay off soon when we can buy a house and make it a home that we love!
  9. I am blessed that Zach has a job and is able to provide for our family!
  10. I am so grateful to be able to do what I love for a living!  I love being in a Christian workplace and having the opportunity to share Jesus with little ones.  The women I work with are amazing and have been such a great support system!
  11. I am thankful to all the men and women who have dedicated their lives to serving our country.  I am so proud of my dad who spent almost 3 decades serving in the Navy.  It wasn’t always easy, but I loved growing up as a Navy Brat 🙂
  12. I am so excited to go tomorrow and find out if Baby #2 is a boy or girl!  Can’t wait!!! (update: We are having a BOY!!!)
  13. I love the beautiful colors of fall!  There’s something special about bright orange leaves!
  14. I am thankful for evenings where I can relax on the couch and spend lots of time looking up baby boy things!!
  15. Thankful for my church family!  I love River Oak 🙂
  16. I’m glad there’s always a bed for us at our parents’ houses.  I loved that me, baby and Penny were able to escape the mouse-capades that occurred in our house on Thursday night!  (I have such a good husband.  He spent 5 hours decontaminating our house and setting up traps to catch our little friends.  We are down one mouse and haven’t seen evidence of any more!)
  17. Love feeling our baby boy moving inside me.  His little kicks always make me smile!
  18. I have the sweetest group of kids this year!  There is nothing sweeter than hearing them say they are most thankful for God during our Thanksgiving craft!!
  19. I LOVE my new car!!!!
  20. I am thankful for a long Thanksgiving Holiday.  I need to re-charge!!
  21. I am grateful to have a mom who will come over and help me do laundry, clean, and put my house back together after the Mouse-capades of 2012!
  22. To be honest, I am finding it hard to have a thankful heart today.  I am most thankful that I know I will spend an eternity with Hannah and never have to say goodbye again.
  23. I’m grateful for days that Zach and I get to spend together!
  24. So excited for two of our best friends who had their first child yesterday.  Loved getting to see the sweet new addition today!!  I am thankful for new babies!!
  25. Thankful for the yummy turkey pot pie cooling on the counter for dinner.  Blessed to have never experienced what it’s like to go to bed hungry.
  26. Grateful for such a great group of girlfriends 🙂
  27. So excited that Zach has finally felt Noah kick!!!  He’s an active little guy!
  28. Grateful that there are 2 Christian radio stations on air to offer me encouragement on days when I need it most!
  29. Decaf Peppermint Mocha Fraps are the perfect treat on a busy day!
  30. Again, I am beyond grateful to serve a God who sacrificed His only Son for me.  As I parent, I can’t fathom that God loves me that much – I’m just grateful He does.

*I am going to update this post everyday in November.  I hope you’ll join me in committing to a month of gratitude!    I’m hoping to see a big change in my heart and my walk with God!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “A Month of Gratitude

  1. Sue

    Reading everyday sweet girl!!

  2. Teddi

    Something we should all do! I’m so grateful for you!

  3. Randy

    That’s so funny. Just this morning I made the decision to write down every day what I am thankful for…and I did! I love your blog and your mom! I’ll continue to pray for all of you. Congratulations!

  4. Rhelda

    Thinking of you and I love reading your blog….you are an inspiration! We are so blessed that you were Jillian’s “1st” teacher:) we talk about you often and enjoyed your new big news together!

  5. Pingback: Surviving Thanksgiving | A Small Piece of Heaven

Leave a Reply

