The Start of Noah’s Nursery

This weekend, we took a big first step and started working on Noah’s nursery.  Shortly after I got pregnant, we decided to move the nursery into our other spare bedroom.  First, the new nursery is bigger, so it will be nice for him to have more room.  And, honestly, it felt a little strange to just clear out Hannah’s things and put Noah’s in the same space.  Does that make sense?

Saturday morning I woke up and was ready to get to work.  If you’ve ever been pregnant, you know that all of a sudden you feel like you HAVE to get the nursery ready.  I know I won’t feel settled or prepared until he has a space of his own.

I was going pretty strong until about 1:00.  Then, the sickness took me down.  I felt like I was catching something on Thursday afternoon….sinus headache, tired, congested, but nothing too bad.  I felt a little worse on Friday, but by Saturday afternoon, I was running a fever and was officially overtaken.  I spent the rest of the day on the couch and all of Sunday sleeping, so operation nursery wasn’t very successful this weekend.

I did start to sort things into a few different piles (attic, donate, trash, and keep), so that’s definitely a start.  We still have A LOT to do before the room is ready for a baby….clear everything out, replace a section of drywall, paint, move furniture and things from Hannah’s room, make a crib skirt, curtains, and other decorations, etc.  Anyone know a nursery fairy?

I know the hardest part of getting Noah’s room ready will be having to go through Hannah’s nursery.  Right now, it still looks exactly the same.  I just haven’t been ready to do anything yet.  We are going to reuse the crib, dresser, and glider though, so I know I have to face it soon.  That’s definitely a post for another day though!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

2 responses to “The Start of Noah’s Nursery

  1. Hey Amanda,
    I found your blog through the Sisterhood of …I can’t remember… haha. Anyway, my daughter died at 2 days old in early June last year, too. (So weird saying “last year”). Anyway, I am so sorry for your loss of sweet lil Hannah… I am right there with you! I, too am trudging through the grief and pain of losing our first baby… and being pregnant with our second, and praying we can keep her/him, while drawing closer to Jesus in a way I never knew. The fellowship with Him through grief is sweet. Anyway, just wanted to touch base and connect somehow… I follow you tho we are on different blog sites…. so anyway… I’m excited for the arrival of Noah in just a few months! 🙂

  2. Myssi,
    I’m glad you reached out and commented. Part of the reason I started blogging was to find other people who are going through the same thing! I’m so sorry for the loss of your daughter. It’s something no mother should have to endure, and nobody really understands unless they’ve been there too. Congratulations on expecting another sweet blessing! Being pregnant again is such a sweet and scary road, but it’s allowed me to feel close to Hannah. This is the only time I’ll be able to compare her to her siblings, so I am soaking up every second. I bookmarked your blog, so I’m off to read (and cry I’m sure!!) I’ll definitely be in touch!
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

